Needing help to decide which of these lenses is my best option

If you are interested in getting started in AP (Astrophotography) or have just begun AP post your questions here. You can also post images if you want suggestions on how to improve them.
GeoAmy Great Britain
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Needing help to decide which of these lenses is my best option

Post by GeoAmy »

I currently have a Canon EOS 2000D which so far I only have a kit lens for. I’ve narrowed my next lens down to a few options and was hoping to get an idea of the best options for a total beginner to astrophotography. They are all second hand in order to keep them within my price point (hard max of £200). I'll be using it out in the countryside mostly but there will likely be some instances where I'm in the back garden of a house in a cul-de-sac so a bit more residential. In terms of the quality of images I want to produce, I don't expect anything incredible because I am very much a beginner. I'm more interested in getting a lens that performs well but isn't ONLY for astro work if that makes sense, even £200 is a lot of money for me so I'm trying to pick a versatile lens. Thank you in advance! The ones I’m considering are:
  • Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II (also an STM variety, unsure of the difference)
    Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
    Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM (also a 40mm EF mount variety)
    Canon EF 20mm f/2.8 USM (also a 100mm variety)
    Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM
    Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM
    Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC
    Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM
    Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 DC HSM
    Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG HSM
    Samyang 16mm f/2 ED AS UMC CS
    Samyang 14mm f/2.8 ED AS IF UMC
    Samyang 14mm T/3.1 ED AS IF UMC II
    Samyang 24mm T/1.5 VDSLR ED AS IF UMC II
    Samyang 16mm T/2.2 ED AS UMC CS
Graeme1858 Great Britain
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator
Articles: 1

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

I Broke The Forum.