Large scale frustration

Discuss what equipment, AP Software, AP Apps you are using.
KathyNS Canada
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Large scale frustration

Post by KathyNS »

I've been itching for a couple of years to set up my C-11 for galaxy season. I was wanting a bit more image scale for little galaxies, planetary nebulae, etc. I had mounted it for the Mars-Moon occultation in December, which of course was clouded out, and we haven't had a clear night since then. With last night being clear and the daytime temperature being above freezing, I thought I'd get everything set up.

I had purchased an adapter that would allow me to mount my filter wheel and camera onto the OAG. Yesterday afternoon, I got that whole assembly put together, with approximate spacing, and mounted it onto the Moonlite focuser on the back of the C-11. To get the guide camera and imaging camera parfocal on the OAG, I aimed at a tree about 200 m away. It was an old oak tree, leafless of course at this time of year, and it wasn't moving too much in the wind.

I quickly realized that the FOV at that distance is about 5 cm! If there had been an ant crawling on one of those twigs, I could have told you the colour of its eyes. It took me a while - all twigs look alike - but I did manage to find a single leaf, which gave me something to align the finder on. I got the OAG dialed in approximately. Depth of field is about 2 cm, so it was a bit hard to tell if I had the same twig in focus in both cameras.

And, speaking of cameras, it was hard seeing anything in the daytime. With the guide camera shooting at 0.001 s and the imaging camera at 0.01 s, through the Ha filter (!) I was able to see the twigs.

Of course, I had some final focusing to do: finding infinity focus, and getting the OAG focus precise. So, after dark, I want out to do that. I was able to find Jupiter and use it to crank the focuser to infinity. That's a lot of turns on an SCT!