New to astronomy - suggestions on gear within certain price range?

If you are interested in getting started in AP (Astrophotography) or have just begun AP post your questions here. You can also post images if you want suggestions on how to improve them.
Kronos United States of America
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

New to astronomy - suggestions on gear within certain price range?

Post by Kronos »

Currently my sig other and I do a lot of photography. Mostly nature, mountains, wildlife, etc. My sig other has asked for a while now about getting a telescope. So as an anniversary gift I would like to get her something that allows clear photography capturing and possible tracking? Looking for a unit that will last years and not something you buy today and within a couple of years its falling apart etc.

The budget would be in the 2-3k range. Since I am new to this, can someone point me in the right direction? Since we live in the city it would have to be transported out to the country for viewing. So a portable type of setup is what we are looking for and not a firm fixture. Thanks!
KathyNS Canada
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: New to astronomy - suggestions on gear within certain price range?

Post by KathyNS »

Hi, Kronos. Welcome to TSS!

I am glad to see that your budget is reasonable. Astrophotography is not a cheap hobby! The most important piece of equipment is the mount. Basically, get the best mount you can afford and, if there is any money left over, buy a telescope to go on it. Do not buy an all-in-one kit: the mounts that come with packaged telescopes cannot support enough weight for astrophotography. You will need to buy them separately.