Mount question

If you are interested in getting started in AP (Astrophotography) or have just begun AP post your questions here. You can also post images if you want suggestions on how to improve them.
Razz United States of America
Pluto Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

Mount question

Post by Razz »

I'm not looking to buy an eq mount right now, this is more of an opinion question...would this be a good mount for AP or should I save some money and get a better one? I have very little AP experience at this time, however, I don't want to keep buying mounts as upgrades. I'd rather get a better mount to begin with.

https://agenaastro.com/ioptron-skyhunte ... sheqa.html
Telescopes: SvBony SV503 80mm, Apertura AD10, Daystar SS60DS,Bresser AR-127s, 6" GSO Ritchey-Chretien Astrograph
Mounts: Skywatcher AZ-GTe, EQ6-R Pro
EPs: Baader Q turret with 32mm Classic Plossl and 18mm, 10mm, 6mm Classic Orthos and Q Turret barlow 2.25x
Baader Hyperion Mark IV 8-24mm zoom, Hyperion zoom barlow 2.25x
Filters: Celestron Variable Polarizing, SvBony F9131A UHC, Baader O III 10nm, Classic Lumicon O III, homemade solar filter with Baader OD 5.0 film, Optolong UV/IR cut
Cameras: Canon EOS Rebel T3i, ASI 224 mc
Guiding: iOptron iGuider 30mm scope/camera
Binoculars: Celestron Upclose G2 10x50

Bill
JayTee United States of America
Universal Ambassador
Articles: 2

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Mount question

Post by JayTee »

With only 11 lb of payload capacity which means 5.5 lb for AP you're not getting very much for your money. A used AVX mount which can handle 30 lb of payload, which is 15 lb for AP, would be less costly than the mount in question.

If you don't want to do the upgrade your mount periodically game, then you need to start with a mount that costs more than $1,500.
∞ Primary Scopes: #1: Celestron CPC1100 #2: 8" f/7.5 Dob #3: CR150HD f/8 6" frac
∞ AP Scopes: #1: TPO 6" f/9 RC #2: ES 102 f/7 APO #3: ES 80mm f/6 APO