Collimation Issue

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Razz United States of America
Pluto Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

Collimation Issue

Post by Razz »

I just collimated my AD10. I used a collimation cap and Cheshire. As this is my first time, I followed Astro Baby's tutorial. The secondary mirror appeared to be okay but the primary was off a little. I adjusted it so the crosshairs were centered on the dot. I went thru this 2 more times just to verify it. I then put the laser collimator that I got with the scope in. It was off about 3/4" from the center circle looking at it down the tube. I rotated the laser and the position never changed. Could it still be the laser itself is out of collimation or did I not collimate the scope correctly?

Edit: I think I figured it out. The secondary is not right.
Telescopes: SvBony SV503 80mm, Apertura AD10, Daystar SS60DS,Bresser AR-127s, 6" GSO Ritchey-Chretien Astrograph
Mounts: Skywatcher AZ-GTe, EQ6-R Pro
EPs: Baader Q turret with 32mm Classic Plossl and 18mm, 10mm, 6mm Classic Orthos and Q Turret barlow 2.25x
Baader Hyperion Mark IV 8-24mm zoom, Hyperion zoom barlow 2.25x
Filters: Celestron Variable Polarizing, SvBony F9131A UHC, Baader O III 10nm, Classic Lumicon O III, homemade solar filter with Baader OD 5.0 film, Optolong UV/IR cut
Cameras: Canon EOS Rebel T3i, ASI 224 mc
Guiding: iOptron iGuider 30mm scope/camera
Binoculars: Celestron Upclose G2 10x50

Bill
Pluto Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

Re: Collimation Issue

Post by Razz »