Had to replace my imaging laptop!

Discuss what equipment, AP Software, AP Apps you are using.
UlteriorModem
Local Group Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

Had to replace my imaging laptop!

Post by UlteriorModem »

Well my old Dell inspiron laptop that I have been using for astro imaging for the last 4 years crapped out.

Had to run a system reset on it just to get it to boot. That of course means ALL of my software, settings and configuration were lost!

Ended up getting a new laptop because I dont have a lot of faith in the old machine now.

So had to start from square one. I am really taken back but what all goes into configuring a new laptop for imaging. All the drivers software configuration etc etc.

One thing that really had me scratching my head was that even though I installed the ASCOM Celestron telescope interface driver it refused to connect! Found out you also have to install a prolific USB interface driver in order for it to communicate with the hand controller!

I would be I put over 8 hours into getting things configured and working together!

SGP, PHD2, ANSVR, drivers for imaging camera, guide camera, telescope control and on and on. It really is alot of stuff to configure and since I had no access to my previous settings had to do a lot of research. Fortunately I did have a cheat sheet for things like camera specs image scale and stuff like that.

Just a quick reminder for you folks! Back up your stuff! :D
Tom

Current Equipment:
Mount: Celestron CGX-L
Scope: 130mm f7 APO
Cam: ASI071mc-pro
UlteriorModem
Local Group Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Had to replace my imagung laptop!

Post by UlteriorModem »

Well amazingly I got a chance to check out the new setup last night for a couple of hours.