Advance VX Celestron Mounts

Discuss Celestron mounts.
arizawilliams
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Advance VX Celestron Mounts

Post by arizawilliams »

Hi All,

I am not one for any form of social media, I joined to share my recent experience with a Celestron product which I felt was important to get out there.

It is by no means a complaint, but I recently have had issues guiding with my Advanced VX mount, I started looking for a new mount and came across a website that talked about micro tuning, I felt as an engineer I could do this myself and took the mount apart, my mount is still in warranty (or was) but I was really surprised, both the worm gears were done up so tight I could not move them.

My mount is just over a year old and I have never had it apart until now, I could not believe how tight both worm gears were, I have since adjusted them to a comfortable feel with no play and they now move freely.

I think my point here is straight from the manufacturer there may be a fault, the stresses placed on the motors must have been really excessive, my advice when purchasing a mount would be to discuss carefully your needs with the supplier.

I cannot believe a supplier such as Celestron would allow this through quality control, I cannot stress enough how tight the worm gears were.

My advice is be careful who you buy your next mount from, I was going to buy the CGX-L but I have decided to go with skywatcher as a result.

I hope anyone out there running an Advance VX is encouraged to get this looked at, it may be OK but there again it may not?

Regards
Dave
turboscrew
Inter-Galactic Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

Re: Advance VX Celestron Mounts

Post by turboscrew »

I guess, these things happen. My iOptron CEM120 is being fixed for binding.
- Juha

Senior Embedded SW Designer
Telescope: OrionOptics XV12, Mount: CEM120, Tri-pier 360 and alternative dobson mount.
Grab 'n go: Omegon AC 102/660 on AZ-3 mount