R&D'ing new image processing technique; crowdsourcing datasets!

This is our area for Vendors. If you are a vendor and wish to promote your products please feel free to do so.
Forum rules
Please feel free to post any new products, discounts, or special announcements!
Also you may post in the open forums to answer specific questions about your products. The only thing we ask is to not downgrade another vendors products.
startoolsastro
Moon Ambassador
Articles: 0

R&D'ing new image processing technique; crowdsourcing datasets!

Post by startoolsastro »

Hi all,

I have no idea if this will yield a response, but here goes;

I need your help to learn how to apply flats and darks to post-processing.

Wait... What is he smoking?

At first glance, it sounds like I'm a misinformed newbie; applying flats and dark to post processing!?
But that's exactly what you will be able to do, if this research and prototype bears out.

If you're a StarTools user you'll be familiar with signal evolution Tracking. If not, then, in a nutshell, it is ST's unique ability to monitor signal (and its noise component!) evolution through time. The benefits of mining this data are objectively cleaner end results with more detail. If you need a refresher or would like to learn more, you can do so here.

Tracking starts as soon as you import your linear dataset, fresh from the stacker. It ends when you've processed your image, where it performs the most targeted noise reduction possible.
In between, Tracking data is used to greatly enhance the results of many other modules; sharpening, deconvolution and more all rely on the data and stats Tracking mines, to obtain more accurate results, while suppressing artefacts and grain development.