Every which way..

Discuss software associated with Astronomy!
Greenman Great Britain
Local Group Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Every which way..

Post by Greenman »

So, it is starting to dawn on me that there’s more to this deep sky stuff that meets the eye (pun intended). So many new terms, but I am getting my head around them.

At this point I want to pick my method of controlling the complex process. I see two choices for me, APT which I’ve used with my canon, or NINA. NINA seems to have the edge, on abilities, but I’m concerned about the learning curve. APT I have some experience with, but only with DSLR’s that are very different things from Pro level CMOS’s.

On planetary my go to was always SharpCap but I have found that flaky with the 533. The last clear night I got nicely aligned, and spot on ASPA using Sirius. Then slewed to the Great Orion Nebula, started off setting up a short sequence 3 x 30 secs and SC hung. Eventually I went to ASI Studio and I could live stack OK. But by this point my cold tolerance ran out and I packed away.

The decision was made, no more trials on cold nights. For once I would sit down, pick a software package that would plate solve, autoguide, sequence and image effectively. The question is which one.

What are the feelings on APT vs NINA for this I’m prepared to do the reading and configuration needed, but I’m interested in opinions between the two.

I know this is subjective, my feeling at the moment is that NINA is developing more rapidly, but it does pay APT the compliment of clearly trying to compete against its alternate.

For anyone who remembers the great American show Soap - “Confused? You will be...” :D
Cheers,

Tony.

Smart Scope: Dwarf II - Club and outreach work.

AP Refractor: Altair 72EDF Deluxe F6;1x & 0.8 Flatteners; Antares Versascope 60mm finder. ASIAir Pro.Li battery pack for grab & go.

Celestron AVX Mount; X-cel LX eyepieces & Barlows 2x 3x, ZWO 2” Filter holder,