SGP Plate solving

Discuss software associated with Astronomy!
mbocca United States of America
Mars Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

SGP Plate solving

Post by mbocca »

Hi,

I wanted to get some input as to what my plate solving woes may be. I have two scopes, an ES ED102 and an Edge1100HD. I have four equipment profiles stored, two for each, one for my Nikon D7100 and one for my ASI1600mmPro. All profiles use the PlaneWave routine built into SGPro.

Plate solving works for both profiles for the ED102 scope. For the Edge100HD, if I take a Frame & Focus image and ask it to plate solve, it will solve and give the correct location. If I ask SGPro to slew to an image that was previously captured, it fails.

When I plate solve off of a Frame and Focus image, the correct image scale is shown (0.28"/pixel), and that is the value in the equipment profile.

I have been using SGPro for about 18 months, and most of that is with the ED102. When I use the Edge1100HD, it is always more time consuming to get on target, and pier-flip is not an option since it won't return to the target automatically.

Any suggestions for things to check would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike
Scopes: Explore Scientific ED102 Triplet APO, Celestron Edge 1100HD, Orion ST80
Mounts: Celestron CGE Pro, SkyWatcher Star Adventurer
Cameras: ZWO ASI1600mm Pro, Nikon D7100, Orion SSAG, ZWO ASI120MC
Control Software: Sequence Generator Pro, PHD2, ASCOM, Stellarium
Post Processing: PixInsight, GIMP 2.0
OhNo Canada
Orion Spur Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: SGP Plate solving

Post by OhNo »

For the long focal length of the SCT your Center Pixel error may be too low.
Scopes: SkyWatcher 8" Quattro, Celestron C8, SkyWatcher ST120, Orion ST80, SharpStar 61EDPH II. SLT 130 Celestron
Mounts: CGEM, CG-4, EQ2, Alt Az, SLT
Cameras: ZWO ASI533MC Pro, ZWO ASI120MM, Canon 1100D
yobbo89 Australia

TSS Photo of the Day

Post by yobbo89 »