Recommendations for a suitable scope for the Fornax LT2 Tracker

Discuss your refractor type scopes here.
Deserter Finland
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Recommendations for a suitable scope for the Fornax LT2 Tracker

Post by Deserter »

I'm a relative novice in the dark arts, and recently bought a Fornax LT2 tracker, which I am rather pleased with. I also have an ASAI Air pro for PA and guiding, although I don't need guiding with the LT2 at the moment

I currently use DSLR's (D5600 and D610) with a Samyang 135mm and an Askar FMA 180. I'd like to add a ¬ 60mm refractor to this line up to give me a longer reach, but not exceed the mount capability or ability to target DSO's.

The Samyang 135 is excellent. The Askar introduced me to the delights of getting backfocus nailed and dealing with blue bloat, although I think I have this sorted out now.

For a longer reach I've been considering the following, for use with the D5600 cropped sensor:

Redcat 51 petzval (but the spotty QC is putting me off, as returning scopes from KSA is a major undertaking)

Vixen FL55 SS with flattener/reducer (I think this is a perfect match for the Fornax, there are some very nice Astrobin examples taken with this, and I don't mind paying for good quality, but I'm not sure if coma is a problem or not with this)

TS 70mm F5 quad flatfield APO, which appears to be a great scope (this may however be too large for the Fornax, although I have a counterbalance set up)

TS PhotoLine 60 mm f/6 FPL53 Apo doublet with flattener (unless CA is significant.. it's a problem on the Askar FMA 180)

TS 62 mm f/4.8 Quintuplet Flatfield Apo (looks like an all in one solution)

For my particular circumstances, I'd prefer to buy once and have a scope I can keep for a while, with no real CA, a sharp image, a good image circle and a flat field, with good QC from the supplier. The ability to use it with the FF D610 would be a bonus even if oversampled.