Barn door tracker?

Tell us about those other projects you are working on.
maceemiller
Jupiter Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

Barn door tracker?

Post by maceemiller »

Hi all. Hope everybody's OK.

As I have no GOTO mount and my EQ mount is, well, rubbish I'm considering trying to make a barn door tracker for use with my DSLR.

Just after some "real" advice.....I've looked on the net and YouTube, etc and found quite a lot of information yet I'm puzzled by what motor to use. I'm not technically minded with motors and I've gotten confused, probably by over reading!

Has anyone here built one? If so, is there a "simple/simpler " way to make it? Also, is it worth building one!

Thankyou in advance, Carl.

Keep focused!
ARock
Saturn Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

Re: Barn door tracker?

Post by ARock »

It might be easier to mount your DSLR on your EQ mount, and give it a shot. It might be terrible for your heavy reflector but fine for your lighter DSLR. That is, if you already have a motor for the EQ mount.
AR
Scopes: Zhumell Z8, Meade Adventure 80mm, Bushnell 1300x100 Goto Mak.
Mount: ES EXOS Nano EQ Mount, DIY Arduino+Stepper drives.
AP: 50mm guidescope, AR0130 based guidecam, Canon T3i, UHC filter.
EPs: ES82 18,11,6.7mm, Zhumell 30,9mm FJ Ortho 9mm, assorted plossls, Meade 2x S-F Barlow, DGM NPB filter.
Binos: Celestron Skymaster 15x70 (Albott tripod/monopod), Nikon Naturalist 7x35.
maceemiller
Jupiter Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Post by maceemiller »

I have my camera attached to my EQ and have a Celestron logic motor drive too. Unless it's poor PA I get trails with camera and scope. The mount is very poor to be honest. When I tighten a clutch, even slightly, you can see the mount move, throwing off where the camera/scope was pointed.....it has awful build quality.

This is why I feel it's worth learning more about using/building a barn door.
ARock
Saturn Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

Post by ARock »