I want new binoculars and I'm not sure what I need

Discuss binoculars.
rocdoc
Moon Ambassador
Articles: 0

I want new binoculars and I'm not sure what I need

Post by rocdoc »

Bear with me, this post may not be as stupid as the title suggests.
I find myself gravitating more towards bino astronomy lately, due to tight schedules and need for mobility to hide from lights in tight suburbia. I have a Celestron SkyMaster DX 8x56. I enjoy it. But I wonder if the quality is not the best, because I keep seeing some obvious lines in bright objects that shouldn't be there - it's not my eyes, it doesn't happen in other instruments. The other thing I find myself wanting is an instrument I could hold steady more efficiently. I do OK, but I still get a lot of movement. On the other hand, larger magnification would also be nice, IF I can find a way to steady them better (talking about hand held, I know I can mount them of course). I mostly find myself in bad skies, so the 7mm exit pupil on my current bino is likely a waste. I also want center focus, because I want to use them for terrestrial viewing in addition to astro.
So, what is one to search for? I am partial to Oberwerks because of the thorough QC and the idea that Kevin checks each of them. Do I try something with smaller lenses to see if that makes it easier to hold steady? What has everyone's experience been? Some folks say that lenses 50 and lower and lighter instruments are easier, some say the opposite, that the weight helps steady things. If I go in that direction, would trying the roof bino Oberwerk sells (Sport ED, in 8x42 or 10x42) make sense? Or would the roof design and much lower aperture result in a significant step down for astro use? (these appear to be phase corrected and well reviewed)
Sorry if this is a bit rambley. Any advice?
Thanks