Dual AZ/EQ mounts

Discuss Skywatcher mounts.
John in SC
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Dual AZ/EQ mounts

Post by John in SC »

Hi all, relative newbie here. Have a Nexstar 8se and realize that if I want to pursue astroimaging I will need to add hardware, software and knowledge. I have seen some mounts (Skywatcher and Orion, e.g.) that have dual altazimuth and equatorial capabilities. Is there a disadvantage to using an EQ mount for lunar or planetary imaging? What is the advantage of having both? Would a great GoTo EQ mount not be sufficient for both? Thanks!
RASA 8, EQ6-R PRO, ASI071 MC PRO, ASIAIR PRO
Bigzmey United States of America
Articles: 8

TSS Awards Badges

Re: Dual AZ/EQ mounts

Post by Bigzmey »

GoTo EQ make better astrophotography mounts than AltAz, no matter if it is Lunar/planetary or DSO. I would just get the best EQ GoTo mount you can afford and don't worry about dual mode.
Scopes: Stellarvue: SV102ED; Celestron: 9.25" EdgeHD, 8" SCT, 150ST, Onyx 80ED; iOptron: Hankmeister 6" Mak; SW: 7" Mak; Meade: 80ST.
Mounts: SW: SkyTee2, AzGTi; iOptron: AZMP; ES: Twilight I; Bresser: EXOS2; UA: MicroStar.
Binos: APM: 100-90 APO; Canon: IS 15x50; Orion: Binoviewer, LG II 15x70, WV 10x50, Nikon: AE 16x50, 10x50, 8x40.
EPs: Pentax: XWs & XFs; TeleVue: Delites, Panoptic & Plossls; ES: 68, 62; Vixen: SLVs; Baader: BCOs, Aspherics, Mark IV.
Diagonals: Baader: BBHS mirror, Zeiss Spec T2 prism, Clicklock dielectric; TeleVue: Evebrite dielectric; AltairAstro: 2" prism.
Filters: Lumicon: DeepSky, UHC, OIII, H-beta; Baader: Moon & SkyGlow, Contrast Booster, UHC-S, 6-color set; Astronomik: UHC.

Observing: DSOs: 3106 (Completed: Messier, Herschel 1, 2, 3. In progress: H2,500: 2180, S110: 77). Doubles: 2382, Comets: 34, Asteroids: 255
BigKahuna United States of America
Jupiter Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Post by BigKahuna »