bigfish
Mars Ambassador
Articles: 0

Sky Watcher EQ6-R Pro Question

Post by bigfish »

Hello everyone!

I am eying a new EQ6-R Pro mount.
Super simple question:
Can you use the hand controller at the same time the mount is connected to a computer? How?
The mount I have now I can plug a USB cable into the bottom of the hand controller, It's been very helpful for this beginner.
I don't see a USB port on the HC of the Sky Watcher and I don't see any USB ports on the mount. One video i watched the guy unplugged the HC from the mount and plugged in a cable where the HC was. I can't wrap my head around a reason why you wouldn't be able to use both HC and computer at the same time if you wanted to. (I am a total beginner, LOL) The manual is super confusing especially since I don't have the mount yet.
Thank you!
Redcat 51, Orion 8"x1000mm Reflector, ASI183MC Pro, ASI533MC Pro, ASI462MC, ASI120 Mini, SVBONY SV106 Guide Scope, ZWO Mini Guide Scope, Skywatcher EQ6 Pro, Sky view Pro.
Lady Fraktor Slovakia
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator

Re: Sky Watcher EQ6-R Pro Question

Post by Lady Fraktor »

These seem to be your options

The EQ6-R mount is equipped with an on board USB port, a SynScan WiFi dongle can also
be attached. Users can control the mount with the following options:
• SynScan hand control.
• SynScan Pro app for iOS: over Wi-Fi connection.
• SynScan Pro app for Android: over Wi-Fi or USB connection
• SynScan Pro for Windows: over W-Fi or USB connection
• SynScan Pro for Mac or Linux (under development): over Wi-Fi or USB connection
• SynScanPTZ( for photography ): over Wi-Fi

I believe when you are connected to the mount through the computer you cannot use the HC even if you are connected through the HC.
See Far Sticks: Antares Elita 103/1575, AOM FLT 105/1000, Bresser BV 127/1200, Nočný stopár 152/1200, Vyrobené doma 70/700, Stellarvue NHNG DX 80/552, TAL RS100/1000, Vixen SD115s/885
EQ: TAL MT-1, Vixen SXP, AXJ, AXD