Just got a used Orion sirius EQ‑G - any free software?

Discuss Orion mounts.
Post Reply
TSS_ASTRO
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:48 pm
1
Location: USA

Just got a used Orion sirius EQ‑G - any free software?

#1

Post by TSS_ASTRO »

Hi All,
I just picked up a used Orion sirius EQ‑G mount.
But the mount did not come with the hand controller.

However it appears the mount can also be controlled by what is called a "DUAL AXIS HAND CONTROLLER".

I also understand the mount can be controlled by software.
I would greatly like to experiment with controlling it via software - and wonder if there is a free software that I could play with?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
dw
User avatar
KathyNS
Co-Administrator
Articles: 0
Posts: 1419
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:47 am
2
Location: Nova Scotia
Contact:

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Just got a used Orion sirius EQ‑G - any free software?

#2

Post by KathyNS »

I used a Skywatcher HEQ5 as my primary mount, a few years ago. It is the same mount as the Sirius. EQMOD will operate it without a hand controller. You will need an EQDIR cable from Shoestring. You will also need the ASCOM software package, and the specific ASCOM driver for your mount.

EQMOD is a go to system, so it takes the place of the hand controller. It allows you to use a cheap game controller as a handset.
Image
DSO AP: Orion 200mm f/4 Newtonian Astrograph; ATIK 383L+; EFW2 filter wheel; Astrodon Ha,Oiii,LRGB filters; KWIQ/QHY5 guide scope; Planetary AP: Celestron C-11; ZWO ASI120MC; Portable: Celestron C-8 on HEQ5 pro; C-90 on wedge; 20x80 binos; Etc: Canon 350D; Various EPs, etc. Obs: 8' Exploradome; iOptron CEM60 (pier); Hall's Harbour Observatory (H2O) Astrobin
TSS_ASTRO
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:48 pm
1
Location: USA

Re: Just got a used Orion sirius EQ‑G - any free software?

#3

Post by TSS_ASTRO »

Thank you Nancy!

Yes - I just took a look at the Skywatcher HEQ5 and I can see that the difference is that they painted it white instead of the orion black.
Do you know if there was a secondary hand controller for that mount?
One that was called a "Dual Axis controller"
It seems to me that controller didn't have the database and go-to software built into it.
It was for simple Dual Axix movements.

I wasn't aware at all of the EQMOD project!
Very cool!

I wonder if their website provides information on the actual control signal protocol needed to control the mount?
I think it may be serial commands.

My sincere thanks Nancy!
Duane
User avatar
KathyNS
Co-Administrator
Articles: 0
Posts: 1419
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 11:47 am
2
Location: Nova Scotia
Contact:

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Just got a used Orion sirius EQ‑G - any free software?

#4

Post by KathyNS »

TSS_ASTRO wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:03 pm Thank you Nancy!
Well, you got 40% of the letters right. :D

Do you know if there was a secondary hand controller for that mount?
I don't know about Orion's marketing. Skywatcher had a "pro" version of the mount with a goto controller, and a "non-pro" version that had a brain-dead two-axis controller. The mount was the same; only the controller was different. You could upgrade the non-pro version to the pro version just by replacing the controller.
Image
DSO AP: Orion 200mm f/4 Newtonian Astrograph; ATIK 383L+; EFW2 filter wheel; Astrodon Ha,Oiii,LRGB filters; KWIQ/QHY5 guide scope; Planetary AP: Celestron C-11; ZWO ASI120MC; Portable: Celestron C-8 on HEQ5 pro; C-90 on wedge; 20x80 binos; Etc: Canon 350D; Various EPs, etc. Obs: 8' Exploradome; iOptron CEM60 (pier); Hall's Harbour Observatory (H2O) Astrobin
TSS_ASTRO
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 4:48 pm
1
Location: USA

Re: Just got a used Orion sirius EQ‑G - any free software?

#5

Post by TSS_ASTRO »

Right then!
If that is the case - then Orion does make the non-go-to controller.
I shall call them and ask about that.
Thanks
Post Reply

Return to “Orion mounts”