iOptron CEM40

Discuss iOptron mounts.
Voyageur
Orion Spur Ambassador
Articles: 0

iOptron CEM40

Post by Voyageur »

Do any of you have this *quite new* mount? It was introduced at NEAF a month or so ago, and is now on backorder at all iOptron retailers. I have asked two retailers, by email, what the status of these mounts is and how one would back order one, if one wanted to, and nobody has replied. Perhaps there is a huge interest and they don't want anyone else on the list because they know they are not going to be able to fulfill existing backorders for a long time. Who knows?

I don't know for sure that I want one, but would like to learn more about it. A strong appeal for me is the relative light weight of the mount for its stated load capacity. This may be the year I get started with AP; I've been researching and reading and thinking for almost 3 years. Had fun with phone photos this winter, and think I might want to dip another toe into the muck.

I also like the looks of it. ;)
Scopes: Vixen VMC200L, D=200mm, F=1950, f/9.75; Televue 2" Everbright diagonal. Coronado PST; AstroTech EDT 80mm, F=480, f/6.
Mounts: Vixen SXW/Starbook (original); Stellarvue M2C alt-az.
Eyepieces: Televue: 55mm Plossl, 22mm Panoptic, 17.3mm Delos, 13mm Nagler, c. 1980, 11mm Plossl, 7mm Nagler, 5mm Radian; Meade 15mm Super Plossl; VERNONSCOPE 2.4X BARLOW
Binoculars: Leica 8x32 Trinovids, circa 1997; Orion Megaview 20x80, Orion Paragon Plus mount.
STEVE333 United States of America
Inter-Galactic Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: iOptron CEM40

Post by STEVE333 »