Trying to get the best of my Celestron Astromaster 130EQ

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
West83 Slovenia
Moon Ambassador
Articles: 0

Trying to get the best of my Celestron Astromaster 130EQ

Post by West83 »

Hello everybody :) :Astronomer1:

I am a newb in the field of astronomy, although I have always been very interested. I actually bought my first telescope 2 years ago - the Astromaster 130EQ MD. I did some preliminary research and felt it was the most I could get for that money. I got the Baader Q-turret set as a present to go with it (6,10,18mm orthos + 32mm Plossl + 2,25 Barlow), which I felt complemented the scope very well.

My first attempt at scoping was almost 2 years ago with the Lunar eclipse, which looked quite cool, but the nearby Mars, which was supposed to be visible was nothing but a blurb. I realized quite soon that the Newtons needed collimating, which was something I didn't really understand well. This meant that my new scope went into the closet only to be take out 4 days ago, when I finally bought a laser collimator. I thought that my worries would be over since i watched all the youtube videos. It turned out that the collimator needed to be collimated (some more headache), which I think I accidentally pulled off (did the rotating test, and it seems that the beam is rotating around its axis, but I think I need to test with a greater distance). So I learned a bit about collimating my secondary mirror, and despite having the laser collimator I think I do it better by eyeballing it through the focuser (with the white paper against the tube), without the use of a collimating cap.