Orange zone -vs- location for viewing question

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Buckethead 2.0
Milky Way Ambassador
Articles: 0

Orange zone -vs- location for viewing question

Post by Buckethead 2.0 »

Hi all,

I'm not a complete newbie, but I have been out of the loop for a while. I plan to get the best binos i can afford. I live in an Orange Bortles(?) Zone, and there is a very small hill nearby. But you can get above all the trees in the whole area. Would the light from the city wash out my view still, or would getting above the streetlights help a lot? Should i just get cheaper binos until i know for sure? Probably, huh? Thanks.

~Buckethead 2.0 (but anyone may call me Eric if you like)
~Eric
Binos: Bushnell Falcon 10x50
JayTee United States of America
Universal Ambassador
Articles: 2

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Orange zone -vs- location for viewing question

Post by JayTee »

Hi Eric,

I always recommend these binos when folks ask about an inexpensive pair because I own them and they work great and they are very inexpensive and collimatable should the need arise.
https://www.amazon.com/Bushnell-Falcon- ... B000051ZOA

Cheers,
JT
∞ Primary Scopes: #1: Celestron CPC1100 #2: 8" f/7.5 Dob #3: CR150HD f/8 6" frac
∞ AP Scopes: #1: TPO 6" f/9 RC #2: ES 102 f/7 APO #3: ES 80mm f/6 APO
∞ G&G Scopes: #1: Meade 102mm f/7.8 #2: Bresser 102mm f/4.5
∞ Guide Scopes: 70 & 80mm fracs -- The El Cheapo Bros.
∞ Mounts: iOptron CEM70AG, SW EQ6R, Celestron AVX, SLT & GT (Alt-Az), Meade DS2000
∞ Cameras: #1: ZWO ASI294MC Pro #2: 662MC #3: 120MC, Canon T3i, Orion SSAG, WYZE Cam3
∞ Binos: 10X50,11X70,15X70, 25X100 ∞ AP Gear: ZWO EAF and mini EFW and the Optolong L-eXteme filter
∞ EPs: ES 2": 21mm 100° & 30mm 82° Pentax XW: 7, 10, 14, & 20mm 70°