Extreme newbie here- help

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
jennyp712
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Extreme newbie here- help

Post by jennyp712 »

Hi guys, just got my new Nexstar 6SE. The skies today are cloudy and it is a full moon. I am not even attempting to use the GOTO. I just want to look at the moon manually. Using 32mm eyepiece, whcih is my biggest, and the 6SE having a focal length of 1500mm, with my scopefinder laser poionted at the center of the full moon, i can only see a hazy bright light. I have seen people posting pics of a full moon so, um, how does one does that? Sorry for the ignorant question but i hope you can sprare some advice.
Scope: Celestron Nexstar 6SE
Camera: Nikon D5600
jennyp712
Earth Ambassador

Re: Extreme newbie here- help

Post by jennyp712 »

I think the question should be, how do i see the moon in its entirety? I have read somewhere of such things as focal reducer?
BigKahuna United States of America
Jupiter Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Post by BigKahuna »

The Focus knob on the 6SE/8SE has a pretty long range so it sounds like you aren't finding that point. In the daylight, aim on a distant point (like a tree a mile away) and see if you can get it to focus. You can also align the finder to the main scope at the same time. There are videos on YouTube on how to align the finder scope. Good luck, congrats on the new Telescope and here's a wish for clear skies)
Last edited by BigKahuna on Sat Mar 07, 2020 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Telescopes/Mounts : Explore Scientific ED102 or Celestron C6N on AVX, 8SE OTA on ASGT, NexStar 114GT/AZ, Meade ETX-90EC w/ Observer Base, Orion XT10i
Binoculars: Pentax 10x50
Camera : ZWO 533MC Pro, Canon EOS Rebel T6, ZWO ASI224MC

Clear Skies,
Ron
Member ASTRA-NJ

KathyNS Canada
Co-Administrator