Solar Filter

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Jnicholes United States of America
Pluto Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Solar Filter

Post by Jnicholes »

I have an 80 mm refractor, focal length is 900 mm. I'm just curious if anybody knows of a solar filter that would fit my telescope. I'm completely new to solar viewing, And I know you need a solar filter before you try or else you will go blind.

Does anybody have any recommendations for a solar filter?
Celestron Nexstar 8SE Schmidt Cassegrain Telescope
25mm plossl Eyepiece
Goto mount
Iphone 11 Nightcap app Camera

"Our minds are finite, and yet even in these circumstances of finitude we are surrounded by possibilities that are infinite, and the purpose of life is to grasp as much as we can out of that infinitude."

Alfred North Whitehead
stewe

Re: Solar Filter

Post by stewe »

I always used Solar safety films and worked very well. As opposed to glass filters, they do not color the image and you cannot brake them :) Check out, for example the Baader safety films:
https://www.baader-planetarium.com/en/s ... 80mm).html
You can buy them with an adjustable mounting bracket that fits your scope's diameter.
And one word of advice: I recommend using some duct tape in addition to the bracket's fastening mechanism to fix the filter bracket to the telescope tube. One cannot be cautious enough when it comes to Solar observations.
Dragonsfire Canada
Orion Spur Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Post by Dragonsfire »

Neil
Orion XT8i Dob, ES AR102
9x50 RACI Finder, TELRAD Reflex Sight, Electro Dot Sight RD400X
Agena SWA 38mm 70 FOV 2" EP, Orion 25+10mm Sirius Plossl 52 FOV EP
ES 82* 11mm, 18mm 2", ES 68* 24mm, 6mm, 25mm Ortho. EP, Televue 3X Barlow,CS lens 2.8mm-12mm F1.4