skywatcher heritage 130p OTA with Celestron nexstar 4SE mount

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Evltoy
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

skywatcher heritage 130p OTA with Celestron nexstar 4SE mount

Post by Evltoy »

Hi All, I posted this on the old site and though I would keep the topic going

Hello All,

I'm very new to Astronomy and the family just got a nexstar 4SE for Christmas. Even though we have been happy with what we have, I now have the opportunity to get a skywatcher heritage 130p DOB really cheap.

My understanding it that the skywatcher heritage 130p is a better scope for deep sky than the 4SE.

Is it possible to mount the skywatcher h130p to the nexstar 4SE mount?

This would mean we would have a nice 5' scope on a goto mount.

Thanks
Wayne

Reply from old site

From Voyageur's
Hi Wayne,

This once-noble forum is no longer under administrative support and has many problems with spammers. Most of us have moved to a new site: https://theskysearchers.com/

Please consider joining us there.

In answer to your question, I do not think it would work to mount the SW Heritage 130 on the 4SE mount. Two different mounting mechanisms, for starters. Then, even if you were able to attach the SW OTA to the SE mount, there might not be enough clearance between the bottom of the tube and the mount. If you mounted it almost at the bottom of the tube, maybe it would fit, but the top end would be very top-heavy and unstable. You'd likely have to fully retract the lower section of the tripod legs to bring the SW eyepiece to a comfortable viewing height; not sure if it would be low enough for the kids to reach or how stable it would then be.