Navigating the Sky

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
GONKO
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Navigating the Sky

Post by GONKO »

:Astronomer1:
So last night I went to try find andromeda with my 8inch orion dob. I was running into some difficulties. I live in a light polluted area, I'd say about a 7 scale, and as I was looking up trying to find myself, looking through the scope it was picking up many more stars, and thus confusing me as to where I was in the sky.
Is this something that comes with experience.
I did manage to get a cloud of some sort, which looked like a distant galaxy....but upon researching, people say andromeda wouldn't fit in a 25mm eyepiece view, so perhaps not andromeda after all.
I'm a total newb and this was my first planned session to find a dso as andromeda was close to the zenith, so finding it I thought would be somewhat easy.....but no lol.
OleCuss
Mars Ambassador

Re: Navigating the Sky

Post by OleCuss »

If you can, go to a star party! It is one of the best ways to learn to see stuff - there are usually expert observers who like nothing better than showing you how to find and to see stuff.

A lot of the stuff we look for may be described as "faint fuzzies". It can take a bit of practice to start to get the hang of it. Fortunately, an 8" Dobsonian has quite a bit of light-gathering and can show you a fair bit - even in light-polluted skies.

Yes, you will not see the entirety of the Andromeda Galaxy in a 25mm Plossl eyepiece, but you can see a lot of it so you may actually have been seeing that target.
KathyNS Canada
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator

TSS Photo of the Day

TSS Awards Badges

Post by KathyNS »