I'm a noob all over again

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Don Alvarez
Mars Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

I'm a noob all over again

Post by Don Alvarez »

It's been probably more than five months since my last observation. It has been a misery with the weather or being unable to go when the weather was good, so when the astronomy club said the dark site trek for tonight was on, I rushed to get some equipment ready that hasn't seen the light of day (or night) in months. Now, I probably should have just loaded up that which I am familiar, the Dob, but I also have a lot of stuff I picked up months ago that literally has never been used yet so that's what I've decided to bring instead - EP's mostly, but more specific is the LX70 mount. I know how EQ mounts work, but I'm clueless about drift alignment. Can someone in the know give me a quick primer or point me towards one so I can take a crash course and no be totally clueless when I go out there tonight?

Much obliged.
Telescopes: 10" SkyLine Dobsonian, 6" Apertura F5 Newt, Celestron Nextar GT90, Meade Infinity 80
EP: 5.5mm, 8.8mm, 14mm, 20mm, 24mm Meade 5000 UWA's, BCO's w/ Q-Turret, 26mm, 32mm, 40mm Meade 4000 Plossls, Orion Expanse, 30mm, 20mm, 15mm GSO Superview, Various others.
Binocs: 15x70 Celestron Skymaster, 10x50 Levenhuk Karma Pro, 10x42 Bushnell, 8x42 Sans & Streiffe
Mounts: Meade LX70 with dual axis motors, Celestron GT, More miscellaneous tripods than a Martian invasion.

"The heavens themselves, the planets, and this center observe degree, priority, and place,
Insisture, course, proportion, season, form, office, and custom, in all line of order.”
helicon United States of America
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator
Articles: 592

TSS Awards Badges

Re: I'm a noob all over again

Post by helicon »