Looking For a Different Setup

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Baskevo
Orion Spur Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

Looking For a Different Setup

Post by Baskevo »

Hi guys! I am brand new to astronomy and to this forum, and I was hoping I could get some advice. I posted these questions on the old forum, but I know a lot of the members have moved here, so I hope it is okay if I post it here too!

So I recently purchased a Celestron Nexstar 130 SLT, and others have pointed out that I might appreciate a different telescope. From the research I had done, it seemed like a good choice for my price range because of the decent-sized aperture and the motorized mount, but I might have jumped the gun. I have had it for a week, and other than the overwhelming shaking of the mount, it is pretty cool to be able to see a bit of Jupiter, its 4 moons, and Saturn, and to get some really cool pictures of the moon on my iPhone. I can barely make out the great red spot, but I cannot make out the Cassini division on Saturn's rings. I think I might have made out a messier, but I wasn't 100% sure (it looked like a smudge on the glass). I would like to do more with a telescope, if it is possible!

I live in Orange County, CA, where there is a lot of light pollution (it is like an 8 or 9 on the Bortle scale, if I am to understand that correctly). I do not know if this is possible where I am located, but I would like to be able to view Saturn and Jupiter in as much detail as possible, and I would also like to see some DSO without driving 2 hours to the nearest dark sky. Also, I would especially like to have the option to learn astrophotography when I get more experienced and can afford a decent camera, which seems impossible with my super shaky 130 SLT.