Tracking problem

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Parky Superman
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Tracking problem

Post by Parky Superman »

I'm new to this and this is my first post. I've attached a pic of my setup. Last night I had my Sigma 150-600mm lens zoomed into 400mm. I had the intervalometer set to take 1 minute exposures continuously (with a ~10s pause in between). The tracking was pretty good surprisingly but only about 1 out of 3 or 4 pictures didn't have star streaking. As I flip through the sequence of photos (in adobe bridge) I can clearly see that the stars appear to oscillate. They move up for a couple of frames, pause, move down for a couple of frames, pause, repeat. The movement is tiny so just slight streaking. I had stabilization off on the lens. Everything on the mount was tightened up as far as I could tell. The gear mesh adjustment on the Star Adventurer seems ok as I can't discern any slop. The clutches were tight. It was not windy. I've learned to not even touch the tripod while taking photos and I did not do that. I think the balance was fine and slightly heavier towards the east (though I'm not sure how much heavier it should be). What caused the oscillation? Am I just at the limit for this mount? Prior to this lens I was using an 85mm and tracking was a lot easier which I guess isn't surprising. I did manage to get the Pleiaides a few nights ago at 300mm and successfully stacked ~75 light frames, ~20 darks, ~20 bias, ~20 flats in DSS. Looked good after postprocessing in Photoshop. Anyway, having fun with this. Let me know what you think about my tracking problem!

Parky Superman
KathyNS Canada
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Tracking problem

Post by KathyNS »

Hi, Parky Superman, welcome to TSS.