Deep space telescope

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Emmanygren
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Deep space telescope

Post by Emmanygren »

Hi!
I'm looking for a deep space telescope. My max budget is around 800$. I'm a beginner so it shouldn't be to advanced, but I want something that will still work when I'm more experienced.

- clarity on deep space objects (galaxies, nebulas, etc..)
- telescope who fixes location automatically
- astrophotography friendly
- I would prefer a telescope fully kitted from start without buying extras to view certain things

Any recomendations?

/ the exicted beginner
helicon United States of America
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator
Articles: 592

TSS Awards Badges

Re: Deep space telescope

Post by helicon »

Hi and Welcome to the TSS Forums. It seems like there are a number of options, either a reflector or a refractor. I'll wait to see what the membership recommends.
-Michael
Refractors: ES AR152 f/6.5 Achromat on Twilight II, Celestron 102mm XLT f/9.8 on Celestron Heavy Duty Alt Az mount, KOWA 90mm spotting scope
Binoculars: Celestron SkyMaster 15x70, Bushnell 10x50
Eyepieces: Various, GSO Superview, 9mm Plossl, Celestron 25mm Plossl
Camera: ZWO ASI 120
Naked Eye: Two Eyeballs
Latitude: 48.7229° N
turboscrew
Inter-Galactic Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

Post by turboscrew »

Hmm, I think there's not many telescopes between those constraints.
Mine might be a bit over, both in functionality, but especially in cost.

You can get one helluva dobsonian, but with such, your possibilities of photography are very limited.