PLEASE learn from my mistake!

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Larry 1969 United States of America
Milky Way Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

PLEASE learn from my mistake!

Post by Larry 1969 »

I've been imaging for a few years now and I don't often visit this "Beginners forum" but I have to share this experience...

A few nights ago the sky was amazing. The clearest I've seen in a long time so I set up despite a 50% moon. I focused on NGC 7023 until moon rise and then it was off to M45 for the rest of the evening. When I woke in the morning I went through some of the nicest subs I've captured to date! I transferred them from my OTA mounted mini PC to a 1TB solid state portable hard drive and then to my processing PC. I've done this a hundred times and didn't think twice about it...

When I got home from work I decided to start processing so I opened the file to find it completely empty! :shock:
I searched everywhere but all of that nice data was lost!!! :x

The lesson is, use COPY and paste for transferring your files instead of CUT and paste... I could have easily retrieved that data if I had done that...
I'm pretty sure one of the transfers was messed up and I could have simply went back a got it from the mini PC... It's COPY and paste for me from now on... I'll go back and delete the files after they have all been successfully transferred ti my processing PC...

Larry
For visual:
10" Skywatcher collapsible goto dob, various EP's and a Celestron StarSense auto align.

For imaging:
Orion 8" astrograph 800mm @ F3.9
Eq6-R Pro controlled by APT via EQmod with an OTA mounted mini PC
Tele Vue Paracorr Type 2 coma corrector
Altair Hypercam 26C
Graeme1858 Great Britain
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator
Articles: 1

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day