Total Beginner - Computerised Telescope Advice

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Magic86
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Total Beginner - Computerised Telescope Advice

Post by Magic86 »

Hi All!

I’ve always loved space and star gazing and would like to explore a little more. I’m probably mainly after your typical moon (as close as I can see), nearby planets and stars.

It’s something I just want to be able to go in the garden or out camping and take a telescope and explore. That’s sort of where I’m at.

I was looking at computerised telescopes because they sound amazing. Taking all the hard work out of it and letting me see what I want to see.

With that in mind, I was looking at the Celestron LCM 80 and wondered if anyone could give some advice? Is it right for what I want is are there better options for under £200?

Thanks!!!
helicon United States of America
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator
Articles: 592

TSS Awards Badges

Re: Total Beginner - Computerised Telescope Advice

Post by helicon »

Hello and Welcome to the Forums. I'm not familiar with that scope but I am sure someone will be along to answer your question.
-Michael
Refractors: ES AR152 f/6.5 Achromat on Twilight II, Celestron 102mm XLT f/9.8 on Celestron Heavy Duty Alt Az mount, KOWA 90mm spotting scope
Binoculars: Celestron SkyMaster 15x70, Bushnell 10x50
Eyepieces: Various, GSO Superview, 9mm Plossl, Celestron 25mm Plossl
Camera: ZWO ASI 120
Naked Eye: Two Eyeballs
Latitude: 48.7229° N
Lady Fraktor Slovakia
Universal Ambassador

Post by Lady Fraktor »

Hello and welcome :)
Are you buying this from a retailer or used?

If it works properly then 200 is not a bad price, does it come with any accessories?
Gabrielle