Best night yet

We all started somewhere! We are a friendly bunch! Most of your questions can be posted here, but if you are interested in Astrophotography please use the new Beginner Astrophotography forum. The response time will be much better.
Uncle Joe
Earth Ambassador
Articles: 0

Best night yet

Post by Uncle Joe »

I got up at 3AM this morning and had my first ever views of Jupiter and Saturn. What a blast! This is why I bought my telescope. I am still learning my equipment but I did get a view of the bands of Jupiter and was very pleasantly surprised when I saw 4 of her moons. So cool. My views of Saturn were not as good but I clearly saw her rings and that was my goal.
I have a Meade 130mm GoTo reflector and eyepieces in 9mm...15mm...20mm....26mm....and a 2x Barlow.....with a basic set of 4 filters.
Can anybody tell me how to get a sharper higher contrast image of Jupiters bands?
And I found Mars but couldn't get a decent view at all.
I am looking forward to better seeing later this month when theses 3 planets rise earlier in the evening.
Thanks in advance for any advice.
Joe
130 mm Meade Newtonian Reflector
avid.astronomer United States of America
Mars Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Best night yet

Post by avid.astronomer »

Congratulations, Joe! I'll never forget my first view of Jupiter and Saturn. I was just as excited as you, and decades later, I still get excited whenever I view them through the eyepiece.