Revolution Imager R2

Discuss any astro equipment that does not have its own forum, such as focusers, finders, chairs, etc.
Star Dad United States of America
Orion Spur Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

Revolution Imager R2

Post by Star Dad »

This is a preliminary report... before actually using it in the field with a crowd. Call it a set up and test functionality.

The imager arrived from Orange County Telescopes in very short order - like three days. The documentation is very sparse. I read a number of reviews where people just gave up on using it, I'm an engineer and I don't let lack of documentation stop me. First off - it is a nightmare in cabling. There are a lot of cables and they have to be wired specifically. I would highly recommend putting labels on the wires so you can reconnect them quickly and don't have to redo the puzzle. This is especially true if you get the wifi transceiver which add even more wires to the melee. Just unscrambling them can take some time.

The handheld controller for the camera is a little quirky - you can only scroll UP through the menus. You quickly find out that this is essentially a low light level security camera with a 1.25" adapter. The buttons on the camera appear to do nothing. Everything is controlled by the white handheld wired controller. The battery unit must be charged - but there is no way to determine if it is charged. And to charge it, it must be turned on. I have not yet used the unit on battery only mode... but to use it on AC power you do not have to have the battery on - but the red LED is still lit, so it can be easy to think you are charging when in fact you are not. Not a good design. But then this thing is more of a kludge of diverse parts put together.