TV Delites

Discuss telescope eyepieces.
John Fitzgerald United States of America
Jupiter Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TV Delites

Post by John Fitzgerald »

To those who have one or more, what do you think of the Delites vs other eyepieces?

I have recently acquired a 5mm Delite, and plan to do a comparison of views with my 5mm Pentax XW when it clears and warms enough. I use the 5mm primarily to observe double stars with my 6" f/8 apo.

I've been using a 7mm Delite for several months and it has been great on doubles at the magnification of 173x that it gives. If the 5 Delite is as good as the 5mm Pentax XW, it will be used more, as it is parfocal with the 7mm.
Double and multiple star observer. Over 3,500 unique pairs logged.

No good deed goes unpunished.
Refractordude
Interdicted

TSS Awards Badges

Re: TV Delites

Post by Refractordude »

I recently snipped a Delite vs Pentax, and Delos comparison.
Attachments
image 1.PNG
notFritzArgelander
In Memory
In Memory

TSS Awards Badges

Post by notFritzArgelander »

Well and good but my BCOs and KK Fujiyama Abbe Orthoscopics beat out Delos on planetary views. :) If you have to have long eye relief Delos is just fine.
Scopes: Refs: Orion ST80, SV 80EDA f7, TS 102ED f11 Newts: AWB 130mm, f5, Z12 f5; Cats: VMC110L, Intes MK66,VMC200L f9.75 EPs: KK Fujiyama Orthoscopics, 2x Vixen NPLs (40-6mm) and BCOs, Baader Mark IV zooms, TV Panoptics, Delos, Plossl 32-8mm. Mixed brand Masuyama/Astroplans Binoculars: Nikon Aculon 10x50, Celestron 15x70, Baader Maxbright. Mounts: Star Seeker IV, Vixen Porta II, Celestron CG5
Bigzmey United States of America
Articles: 8

TSS Awards Badges

Post by Bigzmey »

I have Delite and XW sets. Like you I started by getting one of each. The idea was to compare and decide which I like better and build a set around. There was no clear-cut winner, I liked them both and at the end decided to acquire both sets. :lol: