Getting ready for first cooled CMOS sensor

Discuss what equipment, AP Software, AP Apps you are using.
STEVE333 United States of America
Inter-Galactic Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Getting ready for first cooled CMOS sensor

Post by STEVE333 »

At 78 I don't like learning how to use new hardware/software (not that I ever did). Since I started in AP a little over 6 years ago in late 2013 I have been using a used Canon T3 ($250 from ebay). I quickly realized I needed something to control the camera, and, BYEOS (BackyardEOS) was the answer. I've been using BYEOS since 2014 and it has handled all my needs. With BYEOS I have always used a laptop setup next to the mount. When I started guiding a few years later it was a pleasure to find that BYEOS and PHD "talk" to each other. Coordinating BYEOS and PHD was easy, and, controlling the dithering was also easy to do. It has been "comfortable" using BYEOS and PHD and the laptop.

However, I'm now going to purchase a cooled camera and have to start getting ready for what new things might be needed.