To Astro mod a DSLR Or Not?

Discuss what equipment, AP Software, AP Apps you are using.
Juno16 United States of America
Universal Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

To Astro mod a DSLR Or Not?

Post by Juno16 »

Hi Everyone!

I am a beginner at AP using my Nikon D5300 (unmodded). My future plans are to have the camera Astro modified sometime in the future.

I read that conventional wisdom definitely points to Astro modding a dslr for imaging, but last night, I read something on the internet that seems to totally contradict everything else that I have heard and read. I am talking about using an un- modified vs. a modified dslr for Astro imaging.

What I read is on a website br Dr. Roger Clark (clarkvision.com).
Dr Clark has a very impressive resume.

Dr. Clark states below:

“The advantage of a stock digital camera in astrophotography is that the color balance is close to that of the human eye, and shows compositional differences better. Modified digital cameras are too sensitive to hydrogen alpha emission, making scenes containing hydrogen too red, swamping colors from other compositions. Often this shows in amateur astrophotos as dominantly red. The choice of course is personal. I prefer images with more colors to show more processes and chemistry. I believe such images are more interesting, so I only use stock digital cameras for my astrophotography.”

I admit that I haven’t completely read all of the information on his website, so there might be things that I have not read yet. The website has lots and f interesting information.

Have any of you looked at clarkvision.com?

I guess that is it really a personal thing, but any thoughts about this way of thinking?

Thanks for any comments that you have.

Jim
Jim

Scopes: Explore Scientific ED102 APO, Sharpstar 61 EDPH II APO, Samyang 135 F2 (still on the Nikon).
Mount: Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro with Rowan Belt Mod