Adventures in imaging using Powermate(s) - is it worth it?

Discuss what equipment, AP Software, AP Apps you are using.
ram United States of America
Saturn Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

Adventures in imaging using Powermate(s) - is it worth it?

Post by ram »

TLDR: Do I gain something when using a large sensor and magnifying a small page on a small (say 4" to 2.75") scope using Powermates 4x and 2x? Or is it just the same as blowing up an image? Alternately, should I buy a smaller chip camera with smaller pixels? (See paragraphs at end below for my rough understanding of image resolution both from the scope and from the sensor/photo).

Longer version:

Hi all, since I got back to imaging this month, I've been spending a lot of time on a target I left off, sh2-132, The Lion Nebula and I've collected more than ~60 hours of data so I think it should be good enough. That was all done using my classic technique which I've been doing for two years largely unchanged. Plus I've set up my new Mac so I will redo all the processing since taken fall (upside down after meridian flip) and spring (right side up) appear to be slightly rotated relative to each other even though I was super careful at lining them up - any idea why and will this pose a problem in PixInsight?).

Anyways, I decided to try out something new (this would be my first change since I started imaging with proper CMOS cameras for AP) and since there were several targets, particularly galaxies, that are normally too small for the sensors I use and the scopes I'm now capable of easily moving in and out each day (the C925 doesn't have this problem of size but I can't lift it as easily as I could before and I don't have a permanent set up yet though that's in the vague planning stages---i.e., my wife has agreed to it). So it's mostly the FC100DF and the SV70T.