Help needed processing Moon

Discuss how you are able to get those fantastic images!!!
ic_1101 Canada
Orion Spur Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Photo of the Day

Help needed processing Moon

Post by ic_1101 »

Last night was a spectacular clear night with above average seeing but there was an almost full moon 30 degrees from my target so I decided to try capture some lunar shots. I used my QHY268C on the SW 120ED and captured 200 x .01sec images.
Loaded all the subs in AstroStakkert and selected under the color menu 'force bayer RGGB'. The result is shown below.
I tried color calibration on this image in PI with terrible results, mainly green and purple cast when I increased the saturation.
I'm a newbie to planetary imaging and can't figure out what i'm doing wrong. Any help would be appreciated.
QHY268C_Moon.jpg
QHY268C_Moon_processed.jpg
Alex
Scope: SW Esprit 120ED, Askar FRA300
Mount: ZWO AM5
Cameras: QHY268M/C, QHY183M/C, ASI290MM
Software: Pixinsight, AstroPixelProcessor, SGP
Observatory: Exploradome with Nexdome rotator
https://www.astrobin.com/users/ic_1101/
Thefatkitty Canada
Co-Administrator
Co-Administrator

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Help needed processing Moon

Post by Thefatkitty »

Hi Alex,

Not too sure if I can help... I take pics with a Canon, so I use images. However, I use AS3 and under color I have it set to auto-detect. Comes out fine whether I shoot in monochrome or colour.

Hope that helps,
Mark

"The Hankmeister" Celestron 8SE, orange tube Vixen made C80, CG4, AZ-EQ5 and SolarQuest mounts.
Too much Towa glass/mirrors.

Solar:
H/A - PST stage 2 mod with a Baader 90mm ERF on a Celestron XLT 102 (thanks Mike!)
Ca-K - W/O 61mm, Antares 1.6 barlow, Baader 3.8 OD and Ca-K filters with a ZWO ASI174mm.
W/L - C80-HD with Baader 5.0 & 3.8 Solar film, Solar Continuum 7.5nm and UV/IR filters with a Canon EOS 550D.
3052 Member of the RASC
ic_1101 Canada
Orion Spur Ambassador

TSS Photo of the Day

Post by ic_1101 »