Nebulosity 4 crashing on curves and hue

Discuss how you are able to get those fantastic images!!!
Ben Cartwright SASS
Orion Spur Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Nebulosity 4 crashing on curves and hue

Post by Ben Cartwright SASS »

I have been using Nebulosity 4 for several years for all my processing and getting good results, then the Hue/Saturation slider stopped working and I tried to contact them, they don't get back to you at all.   I added StarTool7 to my workflow and am very happy with it, more complicated than Neb4 but cheaper and less complicated than Pixinsight.
This weekend I down loaded Quicktime to try to fix a file and now suddenly the Curves on Nebulosity don't work.  I can still stack and get ok results but not what I used to be able to do.

THE PROBLEM with Nebulosity is that Craig Stark who wrote it and moved on to other projects and hasn't updated or answered any help requests since 2016!  It is basically a dead program. 

I am thinking I should look into Pixinsight again, I had tried it a couple years ago and it does work.

I don't need an imaging program as I get my raw fits files from SLOOH already calibrated. I can still at this time use Neb4 for stacking and am currently dumping the file into StarTools.

I am wondering if I should really learn StarTools or look for another program. I liked Neb4 for its simplicity but giving good images.

What are other programs people are using?
I might not always be right but I am never wrong, once I thought I was wrong, but I was mistaken...

Ferengi Rule of Acquisition #59
Free advice is seldom cheap

"Sometimes having is not so pleasing as wanting, it's not logical but it is true"
Commander Spock

Canon DSLR's R7, R6II, 5D, 7D2, 90D 21 lenses incl. 100-400L mk ii, 70-200L mk iii f/2.8, RF600/11
Lunt LS50 DS, LS80 DS, Lunt 102ED, Stellarvue SV80 APO, Orion ST80, 127 MAK, Skywatcher Evostar 120ED, 102 MAK, Celestron 8" Edge HD, 102AZ
Skywatcher EQ6-R Pro