Wizard Reprocess with Pixinsight MureDenoise - #2

Discuss how you are able to get those fantastic images!!!
STEVE333 United States of America
Inter-Galactic Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Wizard Reprocess with Pixinsight MureDenoise - #2

Post by STEVE333 »

I'm still learning how to use the Pixinsight MureDenoise script. The script requires two inputs:
  • Gain (e-/DN)
  • Gaussian Noise (DN)
In my previous post I used the wrong values for these two inputs, and, it caused too much noise reduction which not only reduced the noise, but, it blurred the image details. This was evident in my previous post.

This time I was careful to input the proper values for the two script inputs, and, the noise reduction was properly controlled. The resulting image has the same or better "crispness" as I achieve with normal noise reduction (MLT) in the linear processing. The image using the proper MureDenoise inputs is shown below.

ImageWizard Mure New Rotated by STEPHEN KING, on Flickr

The same image processed with my normal noise reduction techniques is shown below for comparison.

ImageWizard_SHO_Rotated by STEPHEN KING, on Flickr

I really like how the MureDenoise smoothes out the "blotchy low-level nebulosity" while leaving the details intact.

However, getting the Gain and Gaussian noise values for your sensor may take a little work.

Thanks for looking,

Steve
Steve King: Light Pollution (Bortle 5)
Telescope + Mount + Guiding: W.O. Star71-ii + iOptron CEM40 EC + Orion Magnificent Mini AutoGuider
Camera: ASI 1600MM Pro + EFW Filter Wheel + Chroma 3nm Siii, Ha, Oiii + ZWO LRGB Filters
Software: PHD2; APT; PixInsight ***** My AP website: www.steveking.pictures
Juno16 United States of America
Universal Ambassador

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Re: Wizard Reprocess with Pixinsight MureDenoise - #2

Post by Juno16 »

Really nice improvement Steve! Well done!
Jim