Discuss your home observatory!
jrkirkham United States of America
Orion Spur Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Step II of My Retirement Project: the Warm Room

Post by jrkirkham »

It's hard for me to believe I am actually doing this. I've been talking about it for probably 10 years now. My goal was to have the framework finished by the end of next year, but being home bound gives me time to get started.

Step 1: Complete: Finding a small area to put up a small observatory. I found a small piece of property owned by a friend. It has low horizons, rural skies, and is about 3 miles from my house. I recently put up a small SkyShed POD XL 3 on a 12'x12' deck. I posted my progess as I went along.

Step 2: In Progress: I just purchased a small 8'x12' lofted barn style garden shed. It has two 4'x8' lofts, which I plan to turn into bunks. I have a propane heat system for it. Future plans will be to add two screened windows for air flow, insulation, and solar panels to operate both the POD and the warm room. I can slowly tweak those projects after I am retired. My goal right now is to get everything up and functional and stay within my budget.

Concerns: You always have to know yourself and make trade offs. By adding the loft I added a little more height to the building. I am placing it just to the north of my POD and positioned so I can still see Polaris. The lofts were a necessity for me. My grand kids all live out of state and I wanted bunks for when they visit. I also wanted a small footprint (8X12 is less than 100 sq. feet) to save money on heating, but still large enough to handle two or three people if I have guests with me.
Rob
Telescopes: 50mm refractor, ED80 triplet, 90mm makcass, 10" dob, 8"SCT, 11"SCT
Mounts: Celestron CGX, Orion Sirius + several camera tripods
Cameras: Canon 6D, Canon 80D, ZWO-ASI120MC
Binoculars: 10x50, 12x60, 15x70, 25-125x80
Observatory: SkyShed POD XL3 + 8x12 warm room