Self-modified Fuji X-a1 success

See sub forums to discuss "Do it yourself" projects.
SkyHiker United States of America
Local Group Ambassador
Articles: 0

TSS Awards Badges

TSS Photo of the Day

Self-modified Fuji X-a1 success

Post by SkyHiker »

Encouraged by Joe's (BABOafrica) successful modification I decided to give it another try with an unused Fuji X-a1 in my sock drawer. Last time I tried it, being a typical beginner, I destroyed the LCD ZIF connector and perhaps more. I eventually shipped that victim to Joe who used it for spare parts and a CFA removal test.

This time eventually everything worked out. This is not to say that it was easy. I took my time with everything, following the steps described by LifePixel at https://www.lifepixel.com/tutorials/inf ... n-tutorial . BTW if you are thinking about self-modifying a camera, please think again and give LifePixel a thought! They are a great company and do the job for a very fair price, also providing an IR filter for the unwanted longer wavelengths.

The trouble that I experienced were:

1) Discovering how the various connectors work, find out which one flip open and which ones are ZIF. It's not immediately clear but treating a connector the wrong way can be catastrophic.

2) The screws of the sensor were extremely tight. I have a good set of screw drivers but was barely able to get them to open up. Fortunately I got them out without damage.

3) There is a hard rim around the IR filter that was difficult to remove. Eventually I pried it open with a screw creating a lot of small glass splinters in the process. I was able to remove them from the camera and sensor, I think.

4) After my first conversion attempt I was unable to get the battery in the camera! As it turned out I had mixed up one screw and put the wrong one in the battery compartment. I had to go back all the way to removing the main board, including de-soldering the dust sensor. Good grief!